Call for Papers.png

We are pleased to announce that the Seventh Annual International Symposium on Quantitative History will take place at Longfor Learing Center in Yantai, Shandong Province, China, July 16 - 17, 2019. The symposium is hosted by the Society for Quantitative History, in collaboration with University of Hong Kong, Tsinghua University and School of History, Renmin University of China.


We now invite submissions of research papers on all relevant historical topics using quantitative approaches including but not limited to economic and social history, political history, cultural history, business and financial history and archival history. Submitted papers can be either in English or Chinese.



Submissions must be unpublished and original. Discussants will be assigned for each accepted paper. 


The two-day Symposium consists of plenary sessions with expert speakers, and parallel sessions featuring accepted papers in English or Chinese.

 Financial support 

We may offer need-based financial aid to presenters who need help paying for travel and accomodation.

Act Now

All submissions should be sent to no later than April 20, 2019. The paper selection results will be announced in mid-May 2019.

Speakers of our previous symposia 

Alphabetical on Surname

Peter Bol (Harvard University)

Weimin Bao (Renmin University of China)

Cameron Campbell (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Shuji Cao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)

Eric Chaney (Harvard University)

Feng Chen (Wuhan University)

Yanliang Chen (National Dong Hwa University)

Zhiqiang Chen (Nankai University)

Zhiwu Chen (Yale University)

Gregory Clark (University of California, Davis)

Xiaonan Deng (Peking University)

Xiuqi Fang (Beijing Normal University)

William N. Goetzmann (Yale University)

Takeshi Hamashita (Sun Yat-sen University)

Mark Harrison (University of Warwick)

Philip Hoffman (California Institute of Technology)

James Kung (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Timur Kuran (Duke University)

Jiancheng Lai (National Tsing Hua University)

Angela Ki Che Leung (The University of Hong Kong)

Bozhong Li (Tsinghua University)

Zhen Li (National University of Singapore)

Guanglin Liu (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

Denggao Long (Tsinghua University)

Debin Ma (The London School of Economics and Political Science)

Haijian Mao (University of Macau)

Christopher M Meissner (The University of California, Davis)

Kris Mitchener (Santa Clara University)

Joel Mokyr (Northwestern University)

Neil Cummins (London School of Economics and Political Science)

Sevket Pamuk (Bogaziçi (Bosphorus) University,Turkey)

Kaixiang Peng (Henan University)

Jean-Laurent Rosenthal (California Institute of Technology)

Carol Shiue (University of Colorado)

Joachim Voth (University of Zurich)

Patrick Wallis (The London School of Economics and Political Science)

Mingfang Xia (Renmin University of China)

Weipeng Yuan (Chinese Academy of Social Sciences)

Jan Luiten van Zanden (Utrecht University)

Dingxin Zhao (The University of Chicago and Zhejiang University)